Competitive Youth

CRI Youth Competitive Rowing sets an unparalleled standard for personal and physical development. Rowers learn the art of rowing while developing life-long skills of accountability,  leadership and teamwork.

Youth Competitive Novice Rowing

All rowers wtih no competitive racing experience begin with the Novice Competitive Program. The Novice team prepares athletes for the Varsity Competitive Program the following year. Novice athletes train as a group five to six days per week, working toward individual and team goals throughout the year. They build on the skills developed in Learn to Row and Crew League and gain racing experience at fall and spring regattas. Athletes interested in becoming coxswains, who steer the boat and learn to motivate the rowers, are also encouraged to sign up. The Novice program runs in the fall and spring, with an opportunity to train with the Varsity during the winter.
Prerequisite: None
 

Youth Competitive Varsity Rowing

Our nationally ranked and award-winning Competitive Varsity team is an ideal fit for athletes who have completed the Novice Rowing program and are dedicated to improving their rowing skills and competing at a high level. Rowers will challenge themselves physically and mentally within a strong team environment. Rowers practice six times per week and attend several weekend regattas each season.
Prerequisite: Youth Competitive Novice
 

Information for Parents of Competitive Youth Athletes:

The link below directs parents to the CRI Parent Handbook. This is a “living document” managed by our parent volunteers to provide parents of Novice and Varsity athletes information and forms. This handbook was created to help inform our parent community and create better communication and opportunities for CRI parents to connect.
 
 

Winter Training

The winter training schedule is detailed below. For registration links, please contact your head coach. Due to limited indoor space, individual winter programs are smaller than the spring and fall competitive squads. Coaches will discuss with athletes what they believe to be the best-fit winter option to be for the individual, and distribute winter training registration links.

Varsity winter training ends Saturday Feb 29, with the last week being tryouts for the spring varsity season. Novice winter training ends on Saturday, March 7, and spring tryouts begin the following week.

Note: Though the spring season starts on the dates listed above, we will continue to train on the "winter schedule" listed below through March 14. The spring time schedule starts on Monday, March 16.

Schedules from Jan 21 through the end of the winter season are listed below.

Varsity & Novice Girls 4:30-6:30pm M/W, 5:45-7:45pm Fri, 10:30-1 Sat

Varsity Boys 6:30-8:30pm M/W, 4:30-6:30pm T/Th, 3:45-5:45pm Fri, 8-10:30am Sat

Novice Boys 6:30-8:30pm M/W, 4:30-6:30pm T/Th, 3:45-5:45pm Fri

Spring Season

Varsity winter training ends Saturday Feb 29, with the last week being tryouts for the spring varsity season. Sign up for Varsity tryouts in the link on the right-hand side of this page!

Varsity teams will train on the winter practice schedule (see above) until Saturday, March 14. The following Monday, they will switch to the spring schedule (see below).

Novice spring tryouts will be held in the second half of the week of March 9. For specific dates for boys and girls tryouts, see the registration links on the right-hand side of this page.

All teams will begin practicing on the spring schedule on Monday, March 16:

Varsity & Novice Boys: M-F 4-6:30, Sat 9-12.

Varsity & Novice Girls: M-F 4-6:30, Sat 10-1.

 

Spring Race Schedules & Important Dates: More coming soon!

 Date  Event Squad  Notes 
 Sat Feb 15 - Sun Feb 23 Winter training trips     
 Tues Feb 25 - Sat Feb 29 Spring tryouts  VB   
 Weds Feb 26 - Sat Feb 29 Spring tryouts  VG   
 Weds Mar 4 Varsity girls spring parent info meeting VG  6:45pm 
 Thurs Mar 5 Varsity boys spring parent info meeting VB 6:45pm 
 Weds Mar 11 - Sat Mar 14 Spring tryouts NG  No tryout Thursday 
 Thurs Mar 12 - Sat Mar 14 Spring tryouts NB  
 Sat Mar 14 Activation Sensation   11am-2pm CRI's spring volunteer event
 Sat Mar 14 SAT Test Day   For information only: tests not administered at CRI
 Mon Mar 16 Novice girls spring parent info meeting NG  6:45pm
 Tues Mar 17 Novice boys spring parent info meeting NB 6:45pm
 Sat Apr 4 ACT Test Day   For information only: tests not administered at CRI
 Sat Apr 4/Sun Apr 5 St Joe's Scrimmage (CRI or Lowell, MA) VB/Select NB  Tentative date/location
 Sat Apr 11 Connecticut Boat Club Dual VG  Tentative
 Fri Apr 24-Sun Apr 26 Saratoga Invite (Saratoga Springs, NY) All squads  
 Sat May 2 SAT Test Day   For information only: tests not administered at CRI
 Sun May 3 Greenwich/Salisbury Scrimmage (Salisbury, CT) VB/VG   
 Thurs May 7 CRI Spring Fundraiser    
 Sat May 9-Sun May 10 Amber Zapatka Memorial Regatta (Lowell, MA) VG/NG Tentative
 Sat May 16-Sun May 17 Northeast Regional Championship (Lowell, MA) All squads  
 Sun May 24 CROM All squads welcome Rower Prom!
 Fri June 5-Sun June 7 U17/U15 National Championship (Camden, NJ) Select athletes  
 Sat June 6 SAT Test Day   For information only: tests not administered at CRI
 Thurs June 11-Sun June 14 Youth National Championship (Sarasota, FL) Qualifying varsity athletes  

 

Compare Competitive Youth Rowing to other Youth Rowing Programs at CRI